Greetings and Salutations!

For those that don’t know, on March 4 I stepped in as the Program Director for the Viticulture and Enology Program here at Kent State University Ashtabula. I have been spending the past few weeks setting goals, making plans, and learning about the Viticulture and Enology Science and Technology Alliance (VESTA) and Kent State University Ashtabula. I am excited to have joined KSUA to lead the Viticulture and Enology Program, and I wanted to extend this formal introduction of myself to you, to give you an idea of my background and vision for the program.

My background is typical for an Ohio gal with a love of science, biology in particular. I hail from Marion, Ohio, where I grew up working in the vineyard that my grandparents planted and operated. After I graduated from Hiram College in 2000 with a B.A. in biology, I moved to the Finger Lakes in New York to attend Cornell University. I earned my Ph.D. in Plant Pathology from Cornell in 2006; my dissertation project focused on crown gall disease in grape. In my most recent position, I worked with Concord grape growers as well as wine grape growers and provided workshops for growers new to grape production. Combined with my experience working for my grandparents, my experience working in the bulk production industry provides me a varied background in grape production, which means that I am comfortable working in wine grape or juice grape production and processing.

In addition to growing the program, one of my primary objectives as the program director is to ensure that students receive an excellent viticulture and enology education. Part of this education will include posts from students on this blog, in addition to guest bloggers and regular posts about the industry and relevant topics in grape and wine production.

See you around!

Jodi Creasap Gee, Program Director for Viticulture and Enology at KSUA

This entry was posted in General Information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

